FSM: Awesome school and lots of fun
 

Senior Schools

Ultimately the choice of senior school is the parent’s responsibility.  However, we are pleased to be involved in the process; we make regular visits to senior schools with the sole purpose of gleaning the latest information.  It is such an exciting time!  Initially there are questions to be answered: Independent or Maintained? Day or Boarding? Single Sex or Co-educational? Geographical area? Rural or urban? Large or small? Traditional or Progressive? Academically rigorous or more gentle? Is sport important?  Art?  Music? The list is almost endless.

However, the single most important criterion and the question that should go at the top of the list must be which school will be right for the child? Few, if any, schools suit everyone.  Our understanding of the child’s ability and our perception of them as a person, coupled with the parent’s honest analysis of their child’s specific needs and intimate understanding of what makes the child tick is a winning combination: together we can reach a short list of senior schools to consider.

Websites, prospectuses and other parent’s opinions offer some insight, but the acid test is the school visit.  Often it can be like buying a house, one just gets a feeling that is not necessarily quantifiable.  Parents should contact the senior schools, arrange a visit and ask to be shown around by a pupil – an ex-FSM pupil would  be good!  Open Days can be worthwhile, but a personal visit is more revealing and helpful.

This visit may just do it for a parent or it may be that further discussions are required back at FSM.  Either way, there is no denying that it is advisable to start the process sooner rather than later, especially if the senior schools are popular and therefore filling fast.

FSM feeds senior schools far and wide.  The list that follows gives some easy links to those that we have linked with more recently:

Avon and Somerset

Clifton College  www.cliftoncollegeuk.com

Kings’ College Taunton  www.kings-taunton.co.uk

King’s Bruton  www.kingsbruton.com

Kingswood School  www.kingswood.bath.sch.uk

Millfield School  www.millfield.somerset.sch.uk

Taunton School  www.tauntonschool.co.uk

Wells Cathedral School  www.wellscathedralschool.org

Berkshire

Eton  www.etoncollege.com

Downe House School  www.downehouse.net

Pangbourne College www.pangbournecollege.com

Buckinghamshire

Stowe School  www.stowe.co.uk

Dorset

Bournemouth Collegiate School  www.bournemouthcollegiateschool.co.uk

Bournemouth School for Boys  www.bournemouth-school.org

Bournemouth School for Girls  www.bsg.bournemouth.sch.uk

Bryanston School  www.bryanston.co.uk

Canford School  www.canford.com

Clayesmore School www.clayesmore.com

Leweston School  www.leweston.co.uk

Milton Abbey  www.miltonabbey.co.uk

Sherborne School (boys) www.sherborne.org

Sherborne School for Girls www.sherborne.com

St Mary’s, Shaftesbury  www.st-marys-shaftesbury.co.uk

Talbot Heath  www.talbotheath.org

Hampshire

Bedales School  www.bedales.org.uk

Burgate School  www.burgate.hants.sch.uk

Hampshire Collegiate www.hampshirecs.org.uk

King Edwards VI School  www.kes.hants.sch.uk

Ringwood School  www.ringwood.hants.sch.uk

St Swithun’s  www.stswithuns.com

Winchester College  www.winchestercollege.co.uk

Oxfordshire

Bloxham school  www.bloxhamschool.com

Rutland

Uppingham School www.uppingham.co.uk

Wiltshire

Bishop Wordsworth’s School  www.bws.wilts.sch.uk

Dauntsey’s  www.dauntseys.org

Godolphin School  www.godolphin.org

Marlborough College  www.marlboroughcollege.org

St Mary’s, Calne www.stmaryscalne.org

South Wilts Grammar School for Girls  www.swgs.wilts.sch.uk

Warminster School www.warminsterschool.org.uk